Healthcare Criminals

Book Cover - Healthcare Criminals
Back cover - Healthcare Criminals

For media and/or reviewers interested in receiving an E-ARC copy of the book, please fill out this form.

    Healthcare Criminals

    TO BE PUBLISHED September 10, 2024

    A gripping exposé of how Bluebird Bio sabotaged affordable sickle cell and thalassemia treatment worldwide.

    Healthcare Criminalsis the inside story of how Bluebird Bio stole gene therapy technology from its rival and sabotaged their superior product to market gene therapy at an impossible cost of over $3 million per patient in the US.

    As Americans struggled to afford care, former Bluebird CEO Nick Leschly, self-proclaimed “Chief Bluebird,” pocketed over $100 million while his coconspirators and Third Rock Ventures raked in billions. They make Martin Shkreli look like a model citizen. The scandal’s economic toll on the 102,000 Americans with Sickle Cell Disease or Thalassemia surpasses the ten most notorious pharmaceutical crimes combined.

    Patrick Girondi, the Wall Street Journal bestselling author and founder of San Rocco Therapeutics, narrates Bluebird’s corrupt rise and its subsequent fall, as its stock now trades at $5 compared to its height of $230. Girondi tells the story as both a founder and a father as he fights in the lab and in the courts to bring more affordable, more effective gene therapy to those who need it—including his own son.

    For readers of Empire of Pain, Pain Hustlers, and For Blood and Money, Healthcare Criminalsis a compelling true story of greed, betrayal, and the relentless pursuit of justice in the face of widespread corruption in the pharmaceutical industry.

     

    Press

    Bestselling Author To Release Exposé Book Claiming Costliest Healthcare Crime Ever

    January 25, 2024 – In September 2024, Patrick Girondi, Wall Street Journal bestselling author and biotech veteran will release “Healthcare Criminals: The Destruction of Bluebird Bio and Affordable Gene Therapy.”